Edmonton Space & Science Centre

2000 Winner: Excellence In Science And Technology Public Awareness

Science Centre Promotes Learning Through Variety Of Programs

The Edmonton Space & Science Centre is the most visited museum in the province and a hub for teachers seeking to enhance their students’ experience with science. It attracts over 450,000 visitors annually and runs many unique programs.

Exceptional Programs

The Brightest Minds Program attracts the best and brightest minds from Canada and around the world to speak on specific science topics to teachers, students and the general public. Past Brightest Minds guests include: Colonel Mike Mullane, a three-time shuttle astronaut; Dr. Mark Plotkin, renowned expert on the world’s rain forests; and Dr. Zahi Hawass, director of the Pyramids in Giza, Egypt.

Through the Museum School Project, students in Grades 1 to 9 spend a full week at the Centre, one class at a time, for an immersive science program that complements the school curriculum. The Centre plans to expand the program by making it available 30 weeks each year.

Scientist 2010 is a unique pilot project designed to help students develop an increased interest in science and technology; 175 Grade 1 students were selected in 1998/99 to participate in this program. Each Scientist 2010 student is provided their own computer in Grade 2, and partakes in immersive science programming and an external mentoring throughout their primary and secondary school careers. These students will then be tracked to determine their learning outcomes.

Global Recognition

The Centre has garnered national and international attention. In 1999, the president of the Palestine Academy for Science and Technology visited the centre to view its programs and discuss assistance in developing a science centre in Palestine. A similar inquiry has come from Brunei. The Honourable Jean Chretien visited the Centre and invited its participation in the development of a science centre in his home riding. Most recently, the centre was awarded the prestigious Michael Smith Award for science promotion by the National Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC).