Celebrating 35 Years in Alberta Innovation: 1990

In 1990, innovation included the expansion of landline telephone networks, improvements in infrastructure for mobile telecommunications, and the early stages of transitioning towards digital communication technologies, setting the stage for future years. Notably, the world standard for broadband wireless was set, which would be key in future developments.

ASTech Awards – 1990 Winners: Then and Now

Mr. Eric A. Geddes the 1990 Winner for Outstanding Contribution To The Alberta Science And Technology Community. Mr. Geddes a distinguished alumni of the University of Alberta was a key figure in Alberta’s economic development, and significantly contributed to various community roles. As Chairman of the Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research (1980-1990), he oversaw a substantial increase in funding, elevating Alberta’s status in medical research. As well, under his leadership, the Edmonton Research Park flourished into a thriving technology community. Mr Geddes was awarded the Order of Canada.

Today the Edmonton Research Park continues to support innovation through the presence and collaboration of community builders and entrepreneurs such as Innotech Alberta(formerly Alberta Research Council) , C-FERSyncrude Research,ERPBCIntellimediaClinisysFrontechBiostreamQuantiam TechnologiesATC, and more. ASTech Award winning companies from the research park have included: API,NanopreciseNTwistNanospeed DiagnosticsMicrolyne, and Zedi.

Established in 1986, B & W Technologies (founded by Cody Slater) pioneered gas monitoring devices for the oil industry, revolutionizing safety standards. In 1990, B & W Technologies, won the award for Commercial Achievement in reaching a Global Market. 

Acquired by Honeywell in 2006, now known as BW Technologies, they lead the global market in gas detection technology, ensuring safety across industries worldwide. Their innovative range of products remains compact, user-friendly, and cost-effective, setting the standard for hazardous environment safety. 

Today Mr. Slater is CEO of Calgary’s Blackline Safety.

Dr. Ronald G. Micetich, recipient of the 1990 Award for Alberta Science and Technology, spearheaded groundbreaking International Pharmaceutical Collaboration. With a PhD in Chemistry from the University of Saskatchewan, Micetich initiated a career in Pharmaceutical Research, cultivating partnerships with industry leaders like Taiho Pharmaceutical Company in Japan. This collaboration led to the establishment of Taiho Pharmaceuticals and Synphar Laboratories in Alberta.

In 1999, Micetich founded NAEJA Pharmaceutical, Edmonton, focused on combating drug-resistant bacteria. Alongside his innovative research, Dr. Micetich served as an adjunct professor at the University of Alberta, sharing his expertise with aspiring scientists.