1995: Award Recipients

Dr. Robert Hodges was honoured with the Outstanding Leadership In Alberta Science award, a Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Alberta and Director and CEO of the Protein Engineering Centers of Excellence in Canada. Bob was also inducted as a Life Member into the Royal Society of Canada (2016). Dr. Hodges was a world-class speed skater representing Canada in three World Championships and two Olympics. His scientific contributions have included peptide synthesis, pioneering work on the SARS coronavirus Spike protein, muscle regulation and synthetic vaccine development as well as founding multiple companies.

The Praxis Science Outreach Society won the award for Excellence In Science and Technology Public AwarenessAs part of the RIN network of Southeastern Alberta(APEX). Praxis works closely with community volunteers, and holds events at Medicine Hat College. Praxis has raised the general level of understanding of science and technology among local youth – and continues to make a difference as a registered charity relying on the support of donors and volunteers.

Science and technology journalist Dennis Urquhart was a writer and photographer for the Public Affairs Office at The University of Calgary, winner of the Journalism: Specialized Publications award. His unique ability to clearly communicate complex scientific topics expresses their impact on our daily lives. His writings, published in the Catalyst, explored the importance of research and rural medical consultations via computer, education, geology, and the relationship between biotechnology and reproduction.

Geotechnical innovator, Dr. Norbert R. Morgenstern, was recognized with the Innovation In Oil Sands Research award. A Professor of Civil Engineering at the University of Alberta, where he helped build the program into an internationally recognized centre of mining excellence. His work, researching the challenges of oil sands development, covers the geotechnical properties of a four-phase system and the treatment of oil sands tailings. Other recognition included: Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada and the Canadian Academy of Engineering; the Alberta Order of Excellence; and the Order of Canada.

NOWSCO(Nitrogen Oil Well Service Company), a horizontal drilling pioneer and international oil services company, won the Outstanding Leadership In Alberta Science award for developing technologies to enhance well performance and reservoir fluid production. NOWSCO provided practical solutions to challenges that affect the economics of recovering oil in Alberta and around the world. It was founded in 1962 by investors, including Calgary philanthropist and petroleum engineer Pat Shouldice, who served as CEO until NOWSCO was bought by BJ Services (now Baker Hughes) in 1996.

Epsilon Chemicals, located in the Edmonton Research Park, won for Industrial Research for their work on environmentally responsible treatments for handling wastewater contaminants. The Envirofloc(TM) process for food processing plant waste uses natural plant materials to coagulate the contaminants, turning waste products into valuable animal feed. In 1998, Epsilon Chemicals won the Alberta Emerald Foundation for Environmental Excellence. Today, they continue to provide research and development for environmentally responsible products and services, to industrial customers around the world.

    Additional 1995 Winners Include:

    Merak Projects Ltd winner of Outstanding Commercial Achievement in Alberta Science and Technology for their work on risk assessment software for the petroleum industry, which included reservoir and production engineering applications, field data management software and value and portfolio engineering tools. Profit Magazine recognized ;Calgary’s Merak Products as one of the top ten fastest-growing companies in Canada. Merak was acquired by Schlumberger NV (now SLB) in 1999.

    Industrial process innovator Dr. Karl T. ChuangProfessor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Alberta, won the award for Outstanding Leadership In Alberta Technology for his work in catalysis chemistry and chemical engineering that helped solve practical problems for both people and industry. Among his many licensed patents is a process assisting pulp and paper mills in reducing the environmental impact of their effluents. His awards include Atomic Energy of Canada Limited Discovery Awards and the Faculty of Engineering Teaching Award, University of Alberta.

    Yellowbird Products Limited, the winner of the Industrial Research Award, was recognized for developing Acoustic Continuous Monitoring (ACM) technology to detect failures of post-tensioning cables in buildings. This Calgary company’s innovation included accelerometers installed in concrete slabs – that constantly monitored electronic activity in the structure while data processing equipment recorded the activity.

    ASTech Special Award winner TRLabs (Later TRTech), began as the Alberta Telecommunications Research Centre and expanded from its three founding sponsors: Bell­ Northern Research, the University of Alberta and the Government of Alberta, to attract 35 major telecommunications players with five laboratories across Western Canada and international recognition for its annual telecommunications technologies conferences. TRLabs produced scores of transferable technologies and supported the professional development and research engagement of hundreds of graduate students.